State of Texas SB 62 requirement
Before a student lives on campus or takes face-to-face classes, Texas state law requires you have a bacterial meningitis vaccine that is:
- less than five years old
- and administered at least 10 days prior to the start of term.
To submit your vaccine record or exemption:
- Log in to mySFA.
- Select the "Future Lumberjacks" tab.
- Click "View Missing Documents."
- Upload to the link provided.
Students 22 years of age or older by the first day of the start of the term or who are enrolled only in online or other distance education courses are exempt.
More information on the minimum state vaccine requirements for college entry
Revised Dec. 12, 2022
All entering students at an institution of higher education are required to show proof of an initial meningococcal vaccination or a booster* dose during the five-year period prior to enrolling. They must get the vaccine at least 10 days before the start of term. SFA will accept either meningitis A or meningitis B.
*The Department of State Health Services requires all students attending seventh through 12th grades to have one dose of quadrivalent meningococcal conjugate vaccine (MCV4) on or after the student’s eleventh birthday, or show valid proof of exemption. Consequently, with these school requirements, many students entering institutions of higher education will need to receive a booster dose of meningococcal vaccine at least ten days before the first day of class. Students should check their immunization records to see if they will need a dose of meningococcal vaccine.
Which students are required to receive the vaccine?
- A first-time student of an institution of higher education
- A transfer student from another institution
- A returning student who attended college before January 1, 2012, who is enrolling in the same or another institution of higher education following a break in enrollment of at least one fall or spring semester
Proof of vaccination
Students may show proof of vaccination against meningococcal disease by providing their college or university with an immunization record that shows they have been vaccinated against meningococcal disease in the last five years. Acceptable proof includes one of the following:
- a form showing the signature or stamp of a physician or their designee, or public health personnel that shows the month, day and year the vaccination dose or booster was administered
- an official immunization record generated from a state or local health authority that shows the month, day and year the vaccination or booster dose was administered
- or an official record received from school officials, including records from out of state.
Which students are not required to receive the vaccine?
Students who qualify for an exemption are those who are:
- 22 years of age or older by the first day of the start of the semester
- enrolled only in online or other distance education courses
- enrolled in a dual credit course which is taught at a public or private K-12 facility not located on a higher education institution campus
- submitting an affidavit or a certificate signed by a physician who is duly registered and licensed and in good standing to practice medicine in the United States, stating that, in the physician's opinion, the vaccination required would be injurious to the health and well-being of the student
- or submitting an affidavit/form signed by the student (or the parent/legal guardian/managing conservator, if applicable) stating the student declines the vaccination for bacterial meningitis for reasons of conscience, including a religious belief.
Obtaining an affidavit
A person claiming exclusion for reasons of conscience, including a religious belief, from a required immunization may only obtain the affidavit form by submitting a request via online form, mail, fax or hand-delivery.
The affidavit from the state of Texas may take a couple of weeks to receive, and the original affidavit (not a copy) must be provided to the institution to be valid.
Note that exemptions from community colleges differ from those of a university.
View the full details on the requirements and exemptions for Texas minimum state vaccine requirements for college entry on the Texas Department of State Health Services website.