Skip to main content

After close review by an Academic Affairs committee, significant changes have been made to this award. Previously named Regents Professor, this award is now named Regents Scholar. All changes effective July 23, 2019. View the updated policy 7.24.

The title of Regents Scholar is the highest honor that the university may bestow upon a member of the faculty.The honor is reserved for faculty members who are exemplary role models to the university community. The title of Regents Scholar is not an academic rank, but an honorary title held for the duration of the recipient’s service to the university.

Deadlines for Submission:

Feb. 15 Nominations and portfolios due to Office of the Provost - email to
Feb. 21 to 25 Committee will review portfolios and make recommendation to Provost
Feb. 28 Recommendation for Regents Scholar made to President
March 29 Recommendation for Regents Scholar made to Board of Regents

Portfolio Guidelines for Regents Scholar Nominations (September 2019)

  • Nominees for Regents Scholar should prepare their portfolios as follows:
Nomination Letters 2 pages
Current CV 5 pages
Exceptional Teaching 2 pages
Exceptional Research 2 pages
Exceptional Service 2 pages
Letters from Colleagues 3 pages
Letters from External Parties 2 pages
Letters from Students 2 pages
  • MAXIMUM 20 pages
  • Portfolios should be submitted electronically as a PDF to

2022-23 Regents Scholar

Dr. Stephen Taaffe

Stephen F. Austin State University’s Board of Regents recently named Dr. Stephen Taaffe, professor of history, the 2022-23 Regents Scholar during April’s regularly scheduled meeting. 

The title of Regents Scholar is the highest honor the university can bestow upon a faculty member. The honor is reserved for faculty members who are exemplary role models to the university community. The title is not an academic rank but an honorary title held for the duration of the recipient’s service to the university. 

As part of the recognition, Taaffe received a $2,000 grant to support his research efforts. 

Taaffe, who is beginning his 23rd year as a professor at SFA, has taught several classes at the undergraduate and graduate levels, and has served on a number of councils and senates, including the College of Liberal and Applied Arts’ College Council, Faculty Senate, and numerous department committees. 

Along with his service to the university, Taaffe also has written eight books, most of which have centered around generals in various wars. His most recent book, “Commanding the Pacific: Marine Corps Generals in World War II” was published in September 2021.

Previous Regents Scholars


Regent Scholar(s)

2021-22 Dr. Mark Ludorf
2020-21 Dr. Leslie Cecil
2019-20 None Awarded
2018-19 Dr. DawnElla Rust
2017-18 Dr. Patrick Jenlink
2016-17 Dr. Kenneth Farrish
2015-16 Dr. Ray Darville
2014-15 Dr. Tim King
2013-14 Dr. Harry Downing
2012-13 Dr. Brian Oswald
2011-12 Dr. Jimmie Yeiser
2010-11 Dr. Hans Williams
2009-10 Dr. Tom Segady
2008-09 Dr. John Moore
2007-08 Dr. Leon Young
2006-07 Dr. Allen Richman
Dr. David Creech
2005-06 None Awarded
2004-05 Dr. Sandra McCune
Dr. Sammie Smith
2003-04 Dr. Suzy Weems
Mr. Charles D. Jones
2002-03 Ms. Mary McCleary
Dr. Robert Szafran
2001-02 Dr. Anna Bradfield
Dr. Michael Legg
2000-2001 Dr. Norman Markworth
Dr. Leonard Cheever
1999-20 Dr. Scott Bills
Dr. James Corbin
1998-99 Dr. Tom Callaway
Dr. Mingteh Chang
1997-98 Dr. Mel Finkenberg
Dr. Jose Rodriguez
1996-97 Dr. David Kulhavy
Dr. Jere Jackson
1995-96 Dr. James Kroll
Dr. Donnya Stephens
1994-95 Dr. James Towns
Dr. Syliva McGrath
1993-94 Dr. Vinay Kothari
Dr. Elvia Rodriguez
1992-93 Dr. Bobby Johnson
Dr. James DiNucci
1991-92 Dr. Gloria Durr
Dr. E. Donice McCune
1990-91 Dr. Francis Abernethy
Dr. Thomas J. Stanly
1989-90 Dr. Lynnette Solomon
Dr. William Young
1988-89 Dr. James G. Dickson
Dr. Dillard Tinsley
1987-88 Dr. David Petty
Dr. Neal Houston
1986-87 Dr. David W. Jones
Dr. Elray Nixon
1985-86 Dr. Archie McDonald
Dr. Victor Bilan
1984-85 Mr. William E. Arscott
Dr. Alfred S. Shivers
1983-84 Dr. June Irwin
Dr. Donald Beason
1982-83 Dr. Walter Robertson
Dr. Dan Beaty
1981-82 Dr. William Cozart
Dr. Jack McCullough
1980-81 Dr. James Garrett
Dr. Robert S. Maxwell


Office of the Provost

Physical Address:
1936 North Street
Austin Building
Room 316

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 6079, SFA Station
Nacogdoches, Texas 75962